Vijay Samuel's Blog

Getting the feel of the basics of boost::program_options

Posted on: May 5, 2010

In order to begin my work for summer of code I am supposed to learn boost::program_options and that is what I did yesterday. 🙂 Unfortunately I fell asleep before I could update my blog. 😉 😦

I did some read up from the link that I have specified below:

http://www.boost.org/doc/libs/1_42_0/doc/html/program_options.html

I didn’t have to bother about installing boost as it was already pre-installed which installing drizzle on my machine but it can be manually installed by doing apt-get install for the following packages:

libboost-dev

libboost-program-options-dev

A rookie mistake which I made was not notifiying the gcc compiler that it has to link the libboost-program-options as well. 😦

I guess I’m pretty much getting the feel of boost::program_options.

My mentor Brian Aker and I came to a conclusion, which was to completely remove the struct “my_long_options” and replace it with program_options::options_description.

Leave a Reply

My Timeline

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

I, Me and Myself

My Blog Stats

  • 6,257 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

