Vijay Samuel's Blog

Changes to be applied in the near future

Posted on: May 11, 2010

Looking deeper and deeper into the drizzleslap.cc and learning boost::program_options I was able to come up with more and more solutions to remove the custom code from slap. I have completely removed my_long_options[] from slap(which will be a pleasing sight to most of the people working on drizzle after the branch gets merged I guess πŸ˜‰ ). The changes that I intend to bring into slap within the next couple of days are as follows:

1. Bring program_options::options_description into main() instead of having it global(my initial assumption was that po::options_description would be used by several functions. I proved to myself that this assumption is wrong. πŸ™‚ ) .

2. Refactor the get_options() function to accept variable_map from boost::program_options as a parameter instead of the command line and query the variable_map for the values of **value. This way, the handle_options() can be safely removed from slap.

It is important that the get_options() is called from main() only after the variable_map is built and the command line has been parsed, otherwise it would make no sense.

If all this is right then I’ ll be able to refactor slap completely in the next 1 and a half days and submit my branch. πŸ™‚

1 Response to "Changes to be applied in the near future"

[…] View full post on Planet Drizzle […]

Leave a Reply

My Timeline

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

I, Me and Myself

My Blog Stats

  • 6,522 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

