Vijay Samuel's Blog

What’s new in the plugin world!

Posted on: August 10, 2010

Its been more than a month since i started working on re factoring the plugin system in order to support the new option processing system which uses boost::program_options. I ‘ve had tonnes of help from Monty Taylor who had worked on the interface. I ‘ve also had constant help from Brian Aker. I ‘ve slowly but surely re factored the entire command line and the last of the re factored plugins are getting ready to be merged into trunk.

Monty has already described to the Drizzle community the changes that the new system has incorporated but I feel that it is my duty to put the changes up as well. The new system does not support underscores unless it has been specified explicitly by the developer. All options are now of the form –plugin-name.option-name=value. One bug that has come up because of my work is that the options that take values such as 1M can no longer take such values, instead they take values in multiples of 1024*1024 but I will be fixing this issue when I work on the kernel. (YAY! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ )

One issue that concerns me is that when I worked on the plugin system it came to my notice that most of the plugins are either very poorly tested or not tested at all. So this message goes out to all the Drizzle Plugin Devs across the globe, “Please test the plugins!!!”. ย I guess that I will be done with working with the kernel by the end of the week and then it will be “Ba Bye my_getopt!!!” ( ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ™‚ I guess most devs will be see that day come!)

2 Responses to "What’s new in the plugin world!"

What a good blog you have here. Surprisingly positive job, this article in fact should get only compliment
Please update it more often. This topics is my interest. Thank you. . .

Leave a Reply

My Timeline

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

I, Me and Myself

My Blog Stats

  • 6,358 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

