Vijay Samuel's Blog

Being a part of the Beta release

Posted on: October 6, 2010

I’m probably the last of all the devs at Drizzle to blog about the big Beta release but I haven’t had a lot of time on my hands these days to do it. It has been six months now since I first came to the Drizzle community to try and make it into Google Summer of Code and I ‘ve seen Drizzle go through a lot of changes. One of the changes have come from myself which is replacing my_getopt with boost:: program_options which I had done as a part of Google Summer of Code under the guidance of Brian Aker. Now, the Beta may not be a big deal to many but it is a huge deal to me as this is the first time I’m a part of something huge. šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

Even though summer of code has ended and I am still spending time in #drizzle in order to contribute patches, utf-8 test cases and bug fixes to Drizzle. (Its difficult to leave such good people and the Drizzle code base is awesome to work on šŸ˜‰ ). I will continue to contribute to Drizzle when ever I had time and see Drizzle grow as time goes by. Cheers to all my mates at #drizzle for making it so far and my wishes to them to take Drizzle even higher.

6 Responses to "Being a part of the Beta release"

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Venkat, drizzlenews. drizzlenews said: PlanetDrizzle Vijay Samuel (GSOC): Being a part of the Beta release: Iā€™m probably the last of all the devs at Driz… http://bit.ly/clXVXg […]

Your work helped make the options system much cleaner and easier to understand – awesome for the user, awesome for the code. Can’t wait to see what you hack on next.

Cheers,
Patrick

Hi Patrick,
I m just doing some tamil utf-8 test cases and minor bug fixes on Drizzle these days. But I am working on a file system search engine as a part of my college project and I like the way it is shaping up. I am using pandora-build, boost::program_options, boost::filesystem, boost::thead and memcached to satisfy the various needs of the software. Lets see how things turn out. Hoping for the best. Will post you the details after I’m done which ll probably be in a weeks time I guess.

Cheers,
-Vijay

Great Job Vijay,
Your contributions to Drizzle is part of a big change. and everlasting one.
Thank you all contributions to mankind.
Yet another human.

Thank You Jobin,

Great work on porting the drizzle client to windows.
Cheer mate!

Leave a Reply

My Timeline

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

I, Me and Myself

My Blog Stats

  • 6,522 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

