Vijay Samuel's Blog

A year at Drizzle

Posted on: March 12, 2011

Its almost a year since I first became a part of the Drizzle family and its been an amazing experience so far. I first came to Drizzle with an aspiration to become a Google Summer of Code intern. I did realise that dream under the guidance of my mentor Brian Aker. Google Summer of Code was awesome. I got to work onΒ  the command line options processing system alongside Brian, Monty Taylor and Jay Pipes. Summer of Code 2010 was a huge success and I did manage some good work into trunk.

Even though summer of code was over I did hang around at Drizzle and do some struct to class refactoring, a lot of bug fixes and some tamil utf-8 test cases. I feel proud to work along side such great people and learn new technologies with them as Drizzle grows. The number of friends I have made here are countless, Stewart Smith, Andrew Hutchings, David Shrewsbury, Patrick Crews, just to name a few. πŸ™‚

I recently approached Brian and Monty regarding what I could do for the coming Summer of Code and Brian was quick to respond. πŸ™‚ Stored Procedure Interface was his reply and SPI is what I am going to propose for the upcoming Summer of Code. Brian is very excited about it and so are many devs at #drizzle including myself. I will be coming up withΒ  a description regarding this project in a few days time and I ‘m open to any comments.

I almost forgot about the GA! The GA of Drizzle is coming out in a few days. I’m pretty excited to be a part of the team and I will definitely contribute more to Drizzle.. Thank you guys! I do love working at #drizzle. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

2 Responses to "A year at Drizzle"

[…] View full post on Planet Drizzle […]

Excited to hear that you are going to work on stored procedure interface.
wishing a very fruitful Google summer again.

Leave a Reply

My Timeline

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

I, Me and Myself

My Blog Stats

  • 6,522 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

