Vijay Samuel's Blog

An Eventful Google Summer of Code 2012

Posted on: August 31, 2012

This year was my third consecutive Google Summer of Code and I’ve done all three of my GSoCs for the Drizzle community. The first time I worked on refactoring the commandline options processing system using boost::program_options. The second time I worked on a stored procedure interface for Drizzle. This year I got a very interesting project to work on. My mentor, Brian Aker, asked me if I could work on adding Drizzle backend support for OpenStack. I was very thrilled since I’ve been long trying to contribute to the OpenStack community and OpenStack is a community that I’ve admired since its infant days. So, I happily said yes. Brian charted out a plan asking me to try adding a plugin for Collectd which could be used to collect the Drizzle server’s statistics from time to time. As part of this I had to work with libdrizzle. There were not many concrete examples of libdrizzle usage. I somehow managed to write a simple “Hello,World” kind of libdrizzle based C program which I had used as a base to start working on the plugin. But, because of all the relocating and stuff that was happening in my personal life I never got to finish the plugin and it is still left in a half baked state. I will add a blog showing the basic program that I had written using libdrizzle so that people could use it as a base to build on.

I then moved on to modifying devstack to script so that it uses Drizzle as a backend instead of MySQL. Monty Taylor had already told me that all the Drizzle support is already built in as a part of SQLAlchemy and I wouldn’t have to do much. Hence I started to remove all the MySQL related code and adding its equivalent Drizzle code. Diving further in I had noticed that I would have to modify some of the SQLAlchemy library code and some of the code in Nova which I did and got working OpenStack with Drizzle. I will add another blog post covering how I had achieved the backend support as well.

All in all, I had fun working on this project this year and the amount of satisfaction that I got on seeing OpenStack run with Drizzle in the backend is priceless. Ultimately I too have contributed to OpenStack in one form. Now, Drizzle is truely “on the cloud”.

3 Responses to "An Eventful Google Summer of Code 2012"

Well done!!!! Proud of you!!!!

Great to hear that you made it possible to have Drizzle in OpenStack. great job.

Thank you Jobin 🙂

Leave a Reply

My Timeline

August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

I, Me and Myself

My Blog Stats

  • 6,522 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

